Do bicycles have to have brakes in Oregon?
Oregon law requires a bicycle to be equipped with a brake. ORS 815.280. However, the law does not just require that a bicycle have a brake, it specifies a minimum standard for a bicycle brake.
A bicycle brake must be able to stop a bicycle traveling at 10 miles-per-hour within a space of 15 feet. On dry, level, and clean pavement.
Charley Gee is a personal injury attorney in Portland, Oregon. He exclusively represents people against insurance companies, corporations, and the government and focuses his practice on representing injured bicyclists and pedestrians.
Thank you to Kara Bredahl for assisting in the research for this post.