In Oregon, bicycle lights and reflectors are required to be used in certain circumstances: when it is dark or when weather conditions limit visibility to less than 1,000 feet. The law Excerpt from ORS 815.280 Violation of bicycle equipment requirements (1) A person commits the offense of violation of bicycle equipment requirements if the person does any of the following: (a) Operates on any highway a bicycle in violation of the requirements of this section. (b) Is the parent
Oregon has a mandatory bicycle helmet law for riders under 16 years of age. What that means is that if a child is 15 or younger they are required to wear a helmet if they are riding their bicycle on a highway (Oregon’s term for any public street, not just a major thoroughfare) or on “premises open to the public” which would include publicly owned parking lots, where motor vehicles are allowed, but would not include parks and multi-use paths because they are not open to cars.